top of page
Search
  • briancoldingii

Forgotten Chapters

Never devote precious seconds of your life to being a forgotten chapter in someone else’s book. I say that because I am that forgotten, glossed over chapter people wish was never written. Meanwhile, I have them written in as precious people in my story. It’s an embarrassing thing you don’t want to experience. Part of why I don’t give people the chance to write stories with me featured. Nor vice versa. I like keeping a consistent cast and swapping out characters makes the story empty after a while. Plot lines are never wrapped up, conclusions are never reached, and questions go unanswered.


I prefer to leave such spaces unfilled. People think that is a sign of not moving on when it really is. Just because you move on doesn’t mean that you have to do anything other than keep going. You don’t have to replace people. You don’t have to adhere to any standard. You don’t have to find new people. When moving on, all that matters is that you move on. People often wish things on you not because they’re healthy for you, but because it eases their anxieties pertaining to you.


I do not believe wish for anything other than normalcy. They want to see you engaging in actions that compliment whatever status quo that currently exists. You are of no importance. Your emotional state doesn’t matter. All that matters is that you are abiding by atypically “healthy” constraints. The problem with health is that it’s relative, especially concerning the mental. What works for one person isn’t universally effective.


But ultimately, there is no reason to give time to people who do not want you, will not remember you, and will not value you. That is why it is better to embrace a strong individualist mindset when faced with socially apathetic adversity. People do not care? Care less than they do. People want to attach themselves to you? Do not bond with them on any level and be prepared for separations. You are nothing but someone the world would rather forget at the end of the day, and all this rot away eventually. Including you and your connections.

10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Under My Skin

For me, it feels like I do not need anyone to tell me or teach me about racism. There are those can do it, but not anyone. For me, a certain kind of hesitancy comes when I have to listen to others tal

bottom of page